Tag Archives: proportionality

Upcoming seminar October 19th, 2022 “COVID-19 narrative research seminar”

Dear colleagues

You are invited to our COVID-19 narratives research seminar on 19 October 2022.

Timezones

  • 8pm to 9:30pm, Melbourne Australia AEST
  • 11am to 12:30pm, London
  • 12pm to 1:30pm, Johannesburg

All welcome!

Please register here.

The zoomlink will be sent prior to the event.

For more info contact mark.davis@monash.edu

Abstracts and Bios

Proportionality in public health ethics, fear and state of exception: a narrative ethics approach to lockdown in Italy in 2020

Dr Silvia Camporesi, King’s College London

This article focuses on lockdown in Italy in 2020 and proceeds as follows. I first provide a background on lockdown measures in Italy in 2020 and on the institutional framework for crisis management in Italy. I then outline the public health principles of proportionality and least infringement, before moving on to present the public perception and lived experiences of the ban on outdoor exercise in Italy in 2020. I then present a critical narrative ethics analysis of the Emilia-Romagna Governor Stefano Bonaccini’s decision to introduce the restriction on outdoor exercise. I conclude discussing the implications of specific narratives employed to frame the emergency for the mobilisation of types of expert knowledge to manage the crisis, for construction of cultural memory of the pandemic, and for its biopolitical legacy.

Covid Autofictions

Dr Maria Vaccarella, University of Bristol

This presentation will explore creative writing responses to Covid19, more specifically fake Covid narratives on social media and established writers’ literary responses to Covid. I am interested in investigating to what extent these narratives contribute to and interrogate the presence of a globalized medical, as well as literary, community, while relying on an intricate web of transhistorical intertextual references.